Book background
Book cover of Hyper
21

Rafiq Hardi Kermanj, founder of the Communist Party of Kurdistan, is forced to flee Tehran for London with his family.

In London, they suffer the shame of penury and migration layered on Kurdish statelessness.
The lives of Rafiq’s three children becoming increasingly dependent on their relationship to money:

Siver, the only daughter, escapes into an unhappy marriage in Baghdad before fleeing to raise her daughter as a single mother in Dubai.

Mohammed, the eldest, stays in London to climb the unforgiving ladder of the financial sector.

Laika, the youngest, retreats into a contactless digital life, designing the trading algorithms that will ultimately prove his downfall in a condo near Wall Street.

Sharp, topical, and powerful, Hyper is a story about what remains of our humanity in a world increasingly dominated by the flows of capital.

Perfect for fans of Zadie Smith, Moshin Hamid, and Jennifer Egan.

Delicious, harrowing, gutting, hilarious, and deeply necessary, Hyper is a masterpiece.’ Porochista Khakpour, author of Brown Album

Publisher: Random House
Binding: Paperback
Publication date: 11 Jan 2024
Dimensions: 153 x 233 x 29 mm
ISBN: 9781784745257

Dear Customers,

Website orders and inquiries are processed from Monday to Friday. 

Books listed on the website are not necessarily in stock at the bookshop and may need to be ordered.

Thank you for your understanding ❤️

Chers clients,

Les commandes de la librairie sont traitées du lundi au vendredi. 

Les livres répertoriés sur le site ne sont pas forcément en stock à la librairie et doivent être commandés.

Merci pour votre compréhension ❤️