Book background
Book cover of Killingly

Killingly

A gothic feminist historical thriller, perfect for fans of Sarah Waters and Donna Tartt

Katharine Beutner

21

Not all missing girls want to be found . . .

*FEATURED IN SUNDAY TIMES, NEW YORK TIMES, APPLE'S BEST BOOKS, AMAZON'S BEST BOOKS OF JUNE,
CRIMEREADS RECOMMENDS AND LITHUB'S TOP BOOKS*

'SARAH WATERS AND DONNA TARTT SQUAD, BUCKLE UP: Killingly is hitting the Plain Bad Heroines place in my heart again' Autostraddle

'Impressive
' Sunday Times

'Gothic atmosphere, great period detail and a genuine shock at the end' Guardian

1897, Massachusetts. The young women at Mount Holyoke College are famous for their beauty and charm - except for plain, quiet Agnes and Bertha. They would rather write poetry and explore the dark woods of Killingly than talk about young men and ballgowns, and the other students find them rather peculiar.

One autumn morning, Bertha vanishes, leaving Agnes to wander the cold college halls alone.

While a search team dredges the pond where Bertha might have drowned, an eccentric private detective arrives in town. Before long, he discovers that plain, quiet Bertha was keeping a terrible secret. A secret that could cost Agnes her life and shatter the glittering reputation of Mount Holyoke forever...

A gothic, turn-of-the-century campus thriller about female desire, rage and ambition, perfect for fans of TRIFLERS NEED NOT APPLY, THE BINDING and FINGERSMITH . . .
*

EVERYONE IS TALKING ABOUT KILLINGLY:

'A haunting story . . . will stay with me long after reading' ELIZABETH LEE, author of Cunning Women

'Completely engrossing. Unforgettable!' MARTHA CONWAY, author of The Physician's Daughter

'Beutner is masterful at depicting the intrigue and innuendo of a women's college. Perfect pacing . . . grows increasingly shocking as the pages turn' The Akron Beacon Journal

Publisher: Atlantic Books
Binding: Hardback
Publication date: 08 Jun 2023
Dimensions: 162 x 242 x 35 mm
ISBN: 9781838959227

Dear Customers,

Website orders and inquiries are processed from Monday to Friday.

Books listed on the website are not necessarily in stock at the bookshop and may need to be ordered.

Thank you for your understanding ❤️

Chers clients,

Les commandes de la librairie sont traitées du lundi au vendredi.

Les livres répertoriés sur le site ne sont pas forcément en stock à la librairie et doivent être commandés.

Merci pour votre compréhension ❤️