Website orders and inquiries are processed from Monday to Friday (2/3)

📚 Books listed on the website are not necessarily in stock and may need to be ordered 📚 (3/3)

Book background
Book cover of With the Fire on High

With the Fire on High

From the winner of the CILIP Carnegie Medal 2019

Elizabeth Acevedo

13

Prior to and during the Olympic Games, vehicle access will be restricted in Paris, so orders may take longer than usual to process.

Coup de coeur
Coup de coeur (Young Adult), by Ella
"He takes a tiny spoonful and pops it into his mouth, and the moment his mouth closes around the spoon his eyelids close, too." Combine 1 cup sugar, 2/3 cup cocoa, 1/3 cup cornstarch in a pan and add 4 1/2 cups of cold milk, increase heat to medium and whisk continually until the mixture reaches a light boil. Remove from the heat immediately and mix in 4 tablespoons of cold butter until combined, allow to cool and serve chilled with a sprinkle of smoked paprika.
'A delicious, evocative story' THE GUARDIAN From the author of THE POET X comes a sumptuous prose novel, perfect for fans of Angie Thomas' On the Come Up, Justin Reynolds' Opposite of Always and Nicola Yoon Ever since she got pregnant, seventeen-year-old Emoni's life has been about making the tough decisions - doing what has to be done for her young daughter and her grandmother. Keeping her head down at school, trying not to get caught up with new boy Malachi. The one place she can let everything go is in the kitchen, where she has magical hands - whipping up extraordinary food beloved by everyone. Emoni wants to be a chef more than anything, but she knows it's pointless to pursue the impossible. There are rules she has to play by. And yet, once she starts cooking, and gets that fire on high, she sees that her drive to feed will feed her soul and dreams too. And anything is possible. 'With its judicious depth and brilliant blazes of writing that simmer, then nourish, With the Fire on High is literary soul food' New York Times
Publisher: Hot Key Books
Binding: Paperback
Publication date: 19 Sept 2019
Dimensions: 129 x 198 x 23 mm
ISBN: 9781471409004